José Besprosvany

José Besprosvany is a choreographer and theater director. Born in 1959 in Mexico, he later moved to Belgium, where he has been living for more than 20 years. Since the early 1980s, he has been one of the reformers of Francophone Belgian contemporary dance, notably through his work with the Mossoux-Bonté Company, Pierre Droulers, Michèle Noiret, and Michèle-Anne de Mey.

José Besprosvany attended the École Jacques Lecoq in Paris, where he studied theater (mime, movement, acting, and mask play). During his studies as a dancer at the École Mudra under Maurice Béjart, he met the musician and teacher Fernand Schirren, who taught him that breathing and heartbeat are at the core of each word and gesture, and how bringing these two together results in rhythm. He then danced with Maurice Béjart’s 20th Century Ballet for two years.

In 1986, José Besprosvany founded his own company, which provided a vehicle for his constant quest to find different modes of expression, and has since resulted in a forceful and varied repertoire. His initial creations, Momentum (1984), Evento (1986), and Tempéraments (1988), were minimalist in style and were followed by a series of productions that questioned the relationship between modern and classical languages, with Von Heute auf Morgen (1989), Apollon la Nuit (1990), and Retours (1992). After this, José explored the relationships between narrative and dance in Cuarteto (1993), built around a text by Marguerite Duras, and followed by Hombre Alado (1995) and Lara (1996), the choreography of which was based on the anonymous text of a 15th-century Spanish epic. These shows were all included in the programs of notable dance centers. In 1992, he also created the choreographies for two operas presented at the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie: Henry Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas and Pascal Dusapin’s Medeamaterial.

In the late 1990s, José Besprosvany re-examined his work, which he judged to be too conformist, and began to approach choreography from a different angle, which he continues to develop to this day. In 1999, along with pieces by Maguy Marin and William Forsythe, he presented Dos y Dos (1999), an astonishing encounter between dance and live flamenco music. That same year, he created the musical Belle à mourir based on the Kurdish legend Mamé Alan, adapted by Thomas Gunzig. More recently, Triptico (2002) and 9 (2005) revealed a marked interest in non-Western performing arts, with a focus on the relationship between the north and the south.

In recent years, his work has frequently incorporated puppetry, with La Princesse de Babylone (2003), a story by Voltaire adapted and placed in an imaginary empire, narrated and sung by actors, dancers, musicians, and a storyteller, as well as A propos de Butterfly (2004), La Belle au bois de Dandaka (2007), and Prométhée Enchainé (Prometheus Bound) (2010). In 2011, Dobles took the concept of Récitations (2009) one step further, transforming it into a subtle technical duet for body and voice.

In early 2013, José Besprosvany directed and choreographed a production of Oedipe (Oedipus), adapted from Sophoces by Olivier Kemeid and acclaimed by the press as “blending all of the arts (speech, music, video, and choreographed movement) into a portrait of sight and sound that is both refined and moving: José Besprosvany’s ‘puzzle’ on power and identity is one of his best works in a long time.” (Christian Jade, RTBF, January 15, 2013)

In 2015, he created Espejo, a dance production for two dancers and in 2017, he directed a successful interpretation of Sophocles’s Antigone, premiered at the Théâtre Royal du Parc in Brussels and at the Aula Magna in Louvain-la-Neuve, marrying the classic Greek chorus with contemporary dance.

In parallel to his passion for dance, José Besprosvany is interested in directing for both theater and cinema. He directed Elles (1996) by Nicole Malinconi, Les Indifférents by Odilon-Jean Perier (1996), and L’Invisible by Philippe Blasband. He also directed Prométhée Enchainé (Prometheus Bound) by Aeschylus, adapted by Henry Bauchau (1998), and created the dance-video Andrès (1992) and the short film Le Dessin (2004), all of which have been presented at several international festivals.

He counts among his numerous awards and distinctions: Il Coreografo Electronico (Italy) and the Bert Leysen Prijs (Belgium), as well as the Special Jury Award in Danscreen (Germany) for the dance video Andrès (1993), the Award for the Best Show of the Year in the French-speaking community of Belgium for La Princesse de Babylone (2004), and the Spectators’ Award and Prize for New Art Forms at the Rainbow Festival (Russia) for A propos de Butterfly (2007).

José Besprosvany

José Besprosvany, chorégraphe et metteur en scène, est né en 1959 au Mexique. Il réside en Belgique depuis plus de vingt ans et a obtenu la nationalité belge en 2001. Il fait partie des rénovateurs de la danse contemporaine belge-francophone depuis le début des années 80 avec notamment la Cie Mossoux-Bonté, Pierre Droulers, Michèle Noiret ou encore Michèle-Anne de Mey.

Il suit des cours de théâtre (mime, mouvement, jeu d’acteur, masque) à l’École Jacques Lecoq (Paris). Durant sa formation à l’École Mudra dirigée par Maurice Béjart, José Besprosvany rencontre le musicien et pédagogue Fernand Schirren. Celui-ci, lui apprend l’importance de la respiration et de la pulsation du cœur à la base de chaque geste exécuté, de chaque mot prononcé, leur rencontre sur et dans le corps et leur temporisation, donnant naissance au rythme. Ensuite, durant deux ans, il fait partie du Ballet du XXème siècle de Maurice Béjart.

En 1986, il fonde sa propre compagnie, toujours à la recherche d’autres modes d’expression, José Besprosvany compte à son répertoire des œuvres aussi fortes que différentes. Ses premières œuvres, plutôt minimalistes, sont Momentum (1984), Evento (1986) et Tempéraments (1988). Son travail se poursuit par une série de pièces interrogeant le rapport entre les langages classique et contemporain avec Von Heute auf Morgen (1989), Apollon la Nuit (1990) et Retours (1992). Il entame ensuite une réflexion sur les rapports entre le récit et la danse, avec Cuarteto (1993), construit sur un texte de Marguerite Duras, suivie de Hombre Alado (1995) et de Lara (1996), chorégraphie basée sur le texte anonyme d’une épopée espagnole du XVème siècle. Ces spectacles ont étés programmés dans les hauts lieux de la danse contemporaine. En 1992, il crée aussi les chorégraphies des opéras Dido and Aeneas de Henry Purcell et Medeamaterial de Pascal Dusapin présentés au Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie.

A la fin des années 90, José Besprosvany remet son travail en question, le trouvant trop conforme à une certaine standardisation et l’aborde son travail sous un autre angle. En 1999, il présente alors, à côté de pièces de Maguy Marin et de William Forsythe, Dos y Dos (1999), une étonnante rencontre entre la danse et le flamenco jouée « live ». Toujours en 1999, il crée la comédie musicale Belle à mourir d’après une légende kurde de Mamé Alan adaptée par Thomas Gunzig. Plus tard, Triptico (2002) et 9 (2005) marquent un intérêt accru pour les arts de la scène non-occidentaux en interrogeant les rapports Nord-Sud.

Ces dernières années, l’art de la marionnette est également devenu une composante importante dans son travail. La Princesse de Babylone (2003), conte de Voltaire porté à la scène dans un empire imaginaire est raconté et chanté par des comédiens, des danseurs, des musiciens et un conteur. A propos de Butterfly (2004), La Belle au bois de Dandaka (2007) et Prométhée enchaîné (2010) poursuivent cette recherche. En 2011, Dobles a repris le concept de Récitations (2009) pour l’approfondir et en faire un duo subtil et technique pour corps et voix.

Il a créé en 2013 Œdipe, une adaptation d’Olivier Kemeid d’après Sophocle, qualifiée par la presse d’un « tableau complexe », mêlant tous les arts (de la parole à la musique, de la vidéo au mouvement chorégraphié), en une peinture sonore et visuelle raffinée et émouvante: le « puzzle » de José Besprosvany sur le pouvoir et l’identité est une de ses plus belles oeuvres, depuis longtemps. (Christian Jade, RTBF, 15 janvier 2013)

En 2015 il crée Espejo, une pièce pour deux danseurs et, en 2017, José Besprosvany réussit la rencontre entre le chœur antique et la danse contemporaine dans Antigone de Sophocle au Théâtre Royal du Parc, à Bruxelles, et à l’Aula Magna de Louvain-la-Neuve.

Parallèlement à la danse, José Besprosvany s’intéresse aussi au théâtre et au cinéma. Il met en scène Elles (1996) de Nicole Malinconi, Les Indifférents d’Odilon-Jean Perier (1996), L’Invisible de Philippe Blasband ainsi que Prométhée Enchaîné d’Eschyle adaptation de Henry Bauchau (1998). Il réalise la vidéo-danse Andrès (1992) et le court-métrage Le Dessin (2004), présentés dans plusieurs festivals internationaux.

Parmi ses nombreux prix et distinctions, on peut citer Il Coreografo Electronico (Italie) et le Bert Leysen Prijs (Belgique) ainsi que l’attention du jury du Danscreen (Allemagne) pour la vidéo-danse Andrès (1993), le prix du meilleur spectacle de l’année en Communauté française (Belgique) pour La Princesse de Babylone (2004) ; les prix du public et des nouvelles formes au Festival Rainbow (Russie) pour A propos de Butterfly (2007).