View Post
Technical Rider

From the Opera Madama Butterfly by Giacomo Puccini
Duration: 45 minutes

Concept, choreography : José Besprosvany
Dramaturgy : Jean-Louis Sbille
Visual concept : Vincent Knecht
Images : Lander Loeckx
Lighting design : Marco Forcella
Stage Manager : Stephen Ferreri
Interpretation : Daniela Luca, Thierry Bastin, Jipé, José Besprosvany

A Compagnie José Besprosvany production, in collaboration with the Theatre de la Balsamine.

Puccini’s opera Madame Butterfly, created in 1904, tells the story of a young geisha seduced by a lieutenant of the American Marines named Pinkerton. For him, Butterfly renounces the religion of her ancestors and marries him, much to the chagrin of her family who distance themselves, ousting her for religious treason. The newlyweds consummate their love on their wedding night, just before Pinkerton sets off again on a crusade. Three years later, Butterfly has had a child and is still awaiting the return of her husband. When he finally reappears, it is on the arm of another woman, an American like himself. Butterfly has no other choice than honorable suicide as a last embrace of her hopeless love.

The spectacle, which covers the opera in a very personal way, reveals itself for many as an object as unusual as it is unclassifiable, confronting different scenic forms, and yet whose audacious mixtures do not take away from the coherence of the whole piece. Puccini’s famous opera—sustained by the incomparable voice of Maria Callas—finds here a purified, sibylline dance, an improbable marriage of contemporary dance, gestural hip-hop and manipulation of human marionettes (inspired by Japanese bunraku), reinforced by projected images tinted by the contrasting manga aesthetic.

Since neither the aesthetic nor the form are a goal per se, the choreography questions—by means of interviews and personal reflections in voice-over—the relevance of this hundred-year-old work faced with a fiery present. It is here that the drama reencounters burlesque and derision. Finally, the spectacle unfolds before the eyes of the choreographer himself, who places himself within the scene and questions his own role as an artist by using his life’s artistic journey as a conduit for the play’s vision.

The role of Madame Butterfly was created by Daniela Luca, who won Best Actor at the Rainbow Festival in Saint Petersburg and at the Tempus Art Festival in Slovakia in 2007.

presse

(…) you laugh a lot during those forty short minutes, but you also, by the artist’s prodding, ask yourself many questions, all while admiring the dance and its many influences interpreted by the three dancers on stage. A convergence of the intimate and the universal, of laughter, dream, and reflection: it is not very common to find all this in the programme of one single evening. José Besprosvany succeeds in gathering them all together in one single spectacle.
Jean-Marie Wynants, Le Soir, February 8, 2005

It is beautiful, light, funny, moving, intelligent.
Alain Pécoult, Le Comtadin, July 21, 2006

The quality of the interpretation translates the ambiguity of sentiments with remarkable finesse. The dance shows, even in the puppeteering (where did this remarkable human marionette idea come from!), that human relationships have a complexity that escapes language.
Philippe Verrièle, Danser, July 2006

Photo Credits Pierre Grosbois

Share this production

View Post
Fiche Technique

D’après l’Opéra Madama Butterfly de Giacomo Puccini
Durée : 45 minutes

Concept et chorégraphie : José Besprosvany
Dramaturgie : Jean-Louis Sbille
Concept visuel : Vincent Knecht
Images : Lander Loeckx
Création lumière : Marco Forcella
Régie : Stephen Ferreri
Interprétation : Daniela Luca, Thierry Bastin, Jipé, José Besprosvany

Une création de la Compagnie José Besprosvany en collaboration avec le Théâtre de la Balsamine.

L’opéra Madama Butterfly de Puccini, créé en 1904, raconte l’histoire d’une jeune geisha qui se laisse séduire par un lieutenant de la marine américaine appelé Pinkerton. Pour lui, Butterfly renonce à la religion des siens et le mariage s’accomplit au désespoir de la famille qui s’éloigne, outrée par sa trahison religieuse. Ils consomment leur amour durant la nuit de noces avant que Pinkerton ne reparte en croisade. Trois ans plus tard, Butterfly a eu un enfant et attend toujours le retour de son époux. Quand celui-ci réapparaît enfin, c’est au bras d’une autre femme américaine comme lui… Il ne reste alors à Butterfly que le suicide honorable pour dernière étreinte avec son amour irréalisable.

Le spectacle, qui parcourt cet opéra de d’une manière très personnelle, s’est révélé pour beaucoup comme un objet aussi inhabituel qu’inclassable, confrontant différentes formes scéniques et dont l’audace des mélanges n’enlève rien à la cohérence. Le célèbre opéra de Puccini –soutenu par l’incomparable voix de Maria Callas- rencontre ici une danse épurée et sibylline, mariage improbable de danse contemporaine, de gestuelle hip-hop et de manipulation de marionnette humaine (inspirée du Bunraku japonais), renforcée par des projections d’images teintées de l’esthétique contrastée des mangas.

Puisque ni l’esthétique ni la forme ne sont un but en soi, le chorégraphe questionne -par le biais d’interviews et de réflexions personnelles en voix off – la pertinence de cette œuvre vieille de cent ans face à une actualité brûlante…C’est ici que le drame rencontre le burlesque et la dérision. Enfin, le spectacle se déroule sous les yeux du chorégraphe lui-même qui se met en scène et questionne son rôle d’artiste en prenant également son propre parcours comme un deuxième fil rouge…

Le rôle de Madame Butterfly a été créé par Daniela Luca, qui a obtenu le prix d’interprétation aux festivals Rainbow à Saint-Pétersbourg et Tempus Art en Slovaquie 2007.

presse

(…) on rit beaucoup durant ces quarante petites minutes, mais on se pose aussi, à l’instar de l’artiste, de nombreuses questions, tout en admirant la danse aux influences multiples des trois interprètes sur le plateau. Alliance de l’intime et de l’universel, rire, rêve et réflexion: il n’est pas si courant de trouver tout cela au programme d’une même soirée. José Besprosvany réussit à les rassembler en un seul et même spectacle.
Jean-Marie Wynants, Le Soir, 8 février 2005

C’est beau, léger, drôle, émouvant, intelligent.
Alain Pécoult, Le Comtadin, 21 juillet 2006

La qualité de l’interprétation, traduit avec une finesse remarquable l’ambiguïté des sentiments. La danse montre que les relations humaines gardent, même dans la manipulation (d’où cette idée remarquable de marionnette humaine) une complexité qui échappe au langage.
Philippe Verrièle, Danser, juillet 2006

Crédits Photos Pierre Grosbois

faire découvrir ce spectacle